West Nile found in 11 horses in Colorado

San Luis Valley Natives: Pushed Out For School, Pulled...

September 18, 2015 Comments (1) Views: 961 San Luis Valley

Feds Designate 17 Colorado Counties as Drought Disaster Areas

Federal agriculture officials have designated 17 Colorado counties on the Eastern Plains as either primary or contiguous natural disaster areas from prolonged drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced the designations in a news release Friday, meaning family-sized farm operators in those counties are eligible for low interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency.

The loans are contingent upon applicants meeting eligibility requirements.

Designated counties include Arapahoe, Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Costilla, Crowley, El Paso, Elbert, Huerfano, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Las Animas, Lincoln, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo and Washington.

“FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, repayment ability and other eligibility requirements,” the release said.

Applications for the loans are due Oct. 5. Potential applicants should contact their local FSA County Office.

Jesse Paul: 303-954-1733, [email protected] or



Tags: , , ,

  • Citizen Quasar

    And May 2015 was the wettest May on record in Colorado and June 2015 was the sixth wettest June on record for Colorado. Kinda’ makes me think: Hmmm…What’s going on with all those chem-trails I have been seeing over Pikes Peak and the Front Range for over a year?